

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, November 17, 2020

12:00 PM

(VIRTUAL MEETING)

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Turner at 12:03 p.m. with eleven members present.

Present

11 - Todd Turner

Monique Anderson-Walker

Derrick Davis
Thomas Dernoga
Mel Franklin
Dannielle Glaros
Sydney Harrison
Calvin S. Hawkins

Jolene Ivey Rodney Streeter Deni Taveras

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant
Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison
Sakinda Skinner, Associate County Attorney
Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney
Jacqueline Brown, PHED Committee Director
Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel

Sandra Eubanks, EWD Committee Director

Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer

Nathaniel Tutt, III, HHSPS Committee Director

Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer

J. Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director

Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer

Howard Stone, GOFP Committee Director

Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer

Leroyo Maddox, Legislative Officer

Monica Best-James, Legislative Officer

Joseph Hamlin, Policy Analyst

Kassandra Fields. A & I

LEGISLATION

<u>CR-125-2020</u>

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, MARYLAND'S SEVENTH CONTINUED DECLARATION OF

EMERGENCY-CORONAVIRUS ("COVID-19") for the purpose of continuing the emergency declarations most recently adopted by the governing body on November 10, 2020, CR-121-2020, and as may be further amended.

Sponsor(s): Turner, Davis, Streeter, Hawkins, Glaros, Dernoga,

Anderson-Walker, Harrison and Taveras

Attachment(s): R2020125

CR-125-2020 Attachment A

CR-125-2020 AIS

CR-125-2020 Report

PANELISTS:

George L. Askew, MD, FAAP, DCAO for Health & Human Services

Rhonda Weaver, County Attorney

Ronnie Gill, Director, Emergency Management

* Dr. Carter is on medical leave and will not be present

COVID ENFORCEMENT TEAM:

Daryl Sims, Special Assistant to the Chief Administrative Officer Office of the County Executive

Evelyn Hoban, Associate Director, Division of Environmental

Health/Disease Control, Health Dept.

Joseph Ruddy, Deputy County Attorney, Office of Law

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator and Colette Gresham, Legislative Officer provided an overview of the Legislation. Rhonda Weaver, County Attorney provided details of the changes that were made since the CR-121-2020 was adopted. The Panelists responded to questions posed by Council Members regarding MGM National Harbor, sports teams, restaurants, mask wearing policy, increase in 18-40 year olds, hotel protocols, vaccine availability and plan for administration and nursing and assisted living facilities.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Streeter, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ave:

11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

<u>CR-126-2020</u>

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING ADEQUATE PUBLIC SAFETY POLICE RESPONSE TIME MITIGATION FEE for the purpose of approving a waiver of the police response time mitigation fee for all residential units of the mixed-use

Calm Retreat Project.

Sponsor(s): Turner, Davis, Streeter, Franklin and Hawkins

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: <u>R2020126</u>

<u>CR-126-2020 AIS</u> <u>CR-126-2020 Report</u>

Jackie Brown, Director, Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee, provided an overview of CR-126-2020. Terry Bell, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive deferred to Mark Magaw, DCAO and Interim Police Chief Valez to provide comments on behalf of the County Executive. The Office of Law reviewed the Resolution and found it to be in proper legislative form with no impediments to its adoption. The following individuals were present and signed up to speak: Tamara Davis Brown, Angela Simmons, Jamila Balamani, Tashara Burgess. Ferdinand Torres-Leon signed up to speak, but was not present. DCAO Magaw and Interim Chief Valez responded to questions posed by Council Members regarding the new district station, District 5 staffing, protections in place for commercial centers, collaboration with Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission and formula used.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Franklin, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

- 8 Turner, Davis, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins,
 - Streeter and Taveras

Nay:

3 - Anderson-Walker, Dernoga and Ivey

CR-127-2020

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY HEALTH

IN ALL POLICIES for the purpose of establishing an approach that recognizes that many health factors are outside of clinical settings and require communities to take a hard look at their investment choices for health.

Sponsor(s): Glaros, Turner, Davis, Hawkins, Harrison, Taveras, Ivey, Anderson-Walker, Streeter and Franklin

Attachment(s): R2020127

<u>CR-127-2020 AIS</u> CR-127-2020 Report

PANELISTS:

George L. Askew, MD, FAAP, DCAO for Health and Human Services Stanley Earley, Director, OMB

Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer, provided an overview of CR-127-2020. Terry Bell, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive noted that the County Executive supports the legislation The Office of Law reviewed the Resolution and found it to be in proper legislative form with no impediments to its adoption. The Panelists responded to questions posted by Council Members.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Dernoga, that this Resolution be amended (1). The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Dernoga, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Turner, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Hawkins, Ivey, Streeter and Taveras

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 2:09 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Anderson-Walker, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.