

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

10:30 AM

(VIRTUAL MEETING)

10:30 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Deni Taveras at 10:34 a.m. with nine members present. Council Member Streeter arrived at 10:38 a.m. and Council Member Franklin arrived at 11:01 a.m.

Present

11 - Calvin S. Hawkins

Monique Anderson-Walker

Derrick Davis

Thomas Dernoga

Mel Franklin

Dannielle Glaros

Sydney Harrison

Jolene Ivey

Rodney Streeter

Deni Taveras

Todd Turner

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant

Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison

Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney

J. Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director

Monica B. James, Legislative Officer

Nathaniel Tutt, III, HHSPS Committee Director

Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer

Howard Stone, GOFP Committee Director

Kathleen Canning, Legislative Officer
Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director
Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel
Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer
Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer
James Walker-Bey, Zoning Reference Aide

GENERAL ASSEMBLY ITEMS

PANEL GUESTS:

EVANS & ASSOCIATES:

Gerard Evans Hayley Evans

LA PEREZ CONSULTING:

Tony Perez
David Jacobs
Leigh Williams
Therese McGucken Hessler

CARRINGTON & ASSOCIATES:

Darrell Carrington

OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE:

Rhea Harris

OPERATING AND CAPITAL BUDGET UPDATES

UPDATES PROVIDED

JOINT PRIORITIES UPDATES

UPDATES PROVIDED

STATEWIDE BILL UPDATES

UPDATES PROVIDED

LOCAL BILL UPDATES

UPDATES PROVIDED

MACO UPDATES

Council Member Todd M. Turner provided an update.

Add42-21 <u>ADDITION TO THE AGENDA</u>

A motion was made by Chair Hawkins, seconded by Member Davis, that this Additions to the Agenda be accepted the additions package. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Hawkins, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros,

Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras and Turner

Absent: Franklin

LTR 04062021

Draft 1

Proposed letter to Honorable Joanne C. Benson, Chair, Prince George's County Senate Delegation and Honorable Erek Barron, Chair, Prince George's County House Delegation regarding HB 980 (PG-416-21) - Prince George's County - Public Ethics - Definition of Application.

Attachment(s): HB 980 April 6 2021 Council Letter

A motion was made by Member Turner, seconded by Vice Chair Taveras, that this Agenda Letter be Favorably recommended with amendments to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 11 - Hawkins, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras and Turner

RECESS

THE MEETING RECESSED AT 11:39 A.M.

A motion was made by Member Streeter, seconded by Member Davis, to recess the meeting. The motion carried unanimously.

Aye:

11 - Hawkins, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras and Turner

2:00 P.M. - RECONVENE

THE MEETING RECONVENED AT 2:03 A.M.

BUDGET WORKSESSION

a) Presentation by Committee Staff

(Including comments received by the Committee)

- b) Audits & Investigations Budget Report
- c) Comments from Agencies
- d) Questions from Committee Members
- e) Motion and Vote

BU 2021-4 PEOPLE'S ZONING COUNSEL

Attachment(s): Peoples Zoning Counsel - FY 2022 Report

PANEL GUESTS:

Turkessa Green, Deputy County Auditor Stan Brown, People's Zoning Counsel

NO ACTION TAKEN

BU 2021-3

MARYLAND NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK & PLANNING COMMISSION (M-NCPPC)

FY 2022 Budgets - Planning Board, Planning Department, Central Administrative Services (CAS)

Attachment(s): FY22 MNCPPC Admin Fund Dept PPT

PANEL GUESTS:

Elizabeth Hewlett - Planning Board Chair Asuntha Chiang-Smith - Executive Director Joe Zimmerman - Secretary-Treasurer Adrian Gardner - General Counsel Mazen Chilet — Chief Information Officer Renee Kenney - Inspector General Andree Checkley - Planning Director John Kroll - Budget Director

NO ACTION TAKEN

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 4:03 P.M.

A motion was made by Member Davis, seconded by Member Turner, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.