

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, May 4, 2021

5:00 PM

(VIRTUAL MEETING)

5:00 P.M. - RECONVENE - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was reconvened by Vice Chair Deni L. Taveras at 5:01 p.m.

Present:

11 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis

Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Mel Franklin

Council Member Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Sydney Harrison

Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Rodney Streeter

Council Member Deni Taveras

Council Member Todd Turner

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Leonard D. Moses, Zoning Assistant

Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison

Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney

Dave Van Dyke, County Auditor

Turkessa Green, Deputy County Auditor

Joseph Hamlin, Policy Analyst, Audits & Investigations

Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel

Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer

James Walker-Bey, Zoning Reference Aide

PUBLIC HEARING:

PH 05042021

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2022 OPERATING BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2022 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE

Attachment(s): Office of Management & Budget Site

County Council Budget Portal

Chairman Speech Constant Yield FY2022 with chart

Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing was convened at 5:02 p.m. Vice Chair Taveras read, for the record, a statement regarding the proposed Prince Georges County Fiscal Year 2022 Constant Yield Tax Rate.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

A time limit of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. A tone will sound indicating that no time remains. Your cooperation in immediately concluding your remarks will be very much appreciated. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony using the Council's eComments portal at pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to:

ClerkoftheCouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Testimony and comments will not be accepted via social media, by telephone/voicemail message or U.S. mail. Comments must be received by 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 12, 2021.

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Introductory Remarks by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II
- (b) Introduction of Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials none
- (d) Comments by interested Citizens
- 1. Yuri Borovsky
- 2. Stephanie Piperno
- 3. Tiffany Turner-Allen
- 4. Peter Gray
- 5. Kiaisha Barber
- 6. Rosalind Ceasar
- 7. Yecenia Castillo
- 8. Ann Marie Binsner
- 9. John Paukstis
- 10. Jennifer Iverson
- 11. Marcal Graham
- 12. Maryann Dillon
- 13. Catrina Aquilino
- 14. Maryann Dillon (duplicate)
- 15. Amy Pergosky
- 16. Magalie Salas
- 17. Alyson Moore
- 18. Patricia Hayes-Parker
- 19. Wendy Wilcox
- 20. Sydney Daigle
- 21. Renee Catacalos (unable to attend)
- 22. Gail Addison
- 23. Tonia Wellons
- 24. Luis Saavedra
- 25. Pat Jackson
- 26. Rasheeda Jamison
- 27. Carolina Moppett

- 28. Marva Jo Camp
- 29. Jackeline Lizama
- 30. Elizabeth Park (technical difficulties; see #88)
- 31. Megan Sutherland
- 32. Jerry Lewis
- 33. Sandra Shephard
- 34. Robert Ponichtera
- 35. Arethia Toni Lewis
- 36. Llamilet Gutierrez (unable to attend)
- 37. Ashanti Martinez
- 38. Islamia Ayangoke
- 39. Maryelin Diaz
- 40. Sergewell Munjie (unable to attend)
- 41. Stanley Mervilus
- 42. Telma Benitez
- 43. Monica Chica
- 44. Cheryl Cort (unable to attend)
- 45. Jonathan Brown
- 46. Carole Bernard (unable to attend)
- 47. Deja Cobbs
- 48. Ladeja Anderson (unable to attend)
- 49. Rafael Romero Mendez
- 50. Chief Bentil
- 51. Taira Ford
- 52. Pernelle De Souza
- 53. Ja-Dyn Hewan
- 54. Tabara Kaloga
- 55. Sequaya Tasker
- 56. Ruby Stemmle
- 57. Vaneesha Ali
- 58. Terry Nuriddin
- 59. Beth MacKenzie
- 60. Janet Gingold
- 61. Martha Ainsworth
- 62. Theresa Dudley
- 63. Tamara Arsenault
- 64. Joyce Benjamin
- 65. Nakia Wright (unable to attend)
- 66. Tolson Banner (technical difficulties; see #89)
- 67. Angela Malone
- 68. Karene Brodie

- 69. Joseph Tolbert (unable to attend)
- 70. Stanford Fraser
- 71. Janna Parker
- 72. Ralph Cyrus
- 73. Laurie Williams
- 74. Hazel Robinson
- 75. Amity Pope
- 76. Abigail Kiesa
- 77. Valencia Campbell
- 78. Kim Rhim
- 79. Carter Ferrington
- 80. Jerry Lewis (duplicate)
- 81. Chanel Compton
- 82. Trent Leon-Lierman
- 83. Dr. B.R. Sargent (unable to attend)
- 84. Michele Clarke
- 85. Antonio Ostolaza
- 86. Patti Kim
- 87. Caitlyn Burnitis
- 88. Elizabeth Park
- 89. Tolson Banner

All persons wishing to speak, having done so, this public hearing was declared held.

Leroy Maddox, Legislative Officer, read, for the record, potential additional projects to the proposed capital improvement program.

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 9:49 P.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Glaros, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by:
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Submitted by:
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council