

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 17, 2021

10:15 AM

(VIRTUAL MEETING)

10:15 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Deni L. Taveras at 10:32 a.m. with nine members present.

Present:

9 - Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Thomas Dernoga

Council Member Mel Franklin

Council Member Dannielle Glaros

Council Member Sydney Harrison

Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Rodney Streeter

Council Member Deni Taveras

Council Member Todd Turner

Absent: Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Derrick Davis

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant
Leonard Moses, Zoning Assistant
Rajesh Kumar, Principal Counsel
Ellis Watson, DC Staff
Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer
Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison
Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney
Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer
James Walker-Bey, Zoning Reference Aide

BUSINESS MEETING

BRIEFING – (VIRTUAL MEETING)

BR 05172021 <u>UPDATE ON FEDERAL ISSUES</u>

The Honorable Ben Cardin, U.S. Senator for Maryland

Senator Cardin introduced his staff to Council Members and provided opening remarks regarding the General Assembly; COVID-19 Response; FBI Relocation Prospects; Other Federal Relocations to County (Engravings, Homeland Security) and Transportation/Transit Issues. Mr. Cardin responded to questions posed by Council Members regarding Maglev; P3 Projects; Wildlife Refuge; direct/indirect Federal funds to the County; federal level earmarks; Greenbelt Metro Station; direct assistance to the WSSC; bridge over Rt. 50; violent crime/gun control; transportation equity; stormwater management issues; tax law; Southern Maryland Rapid Transit Project (SMRT); small and minority businesses; Medicare for All; immigration and the filibuster.

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 11:32 A.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Glaros, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

11:45 P.M. - EXECUTIVE SESSION - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

EX 05172021

Motion to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(1), (7) and (8) General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation, or performance evaluation of an appointee, employee, or official over whom it has jurisdiction, and to discuss and consider pending or potential litigation, and to consult with counsel to seek legal advice.

Vice Chair Deni L. Taveras read the following closing statement into the record: "Motion to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(1), (7) and (8) General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation, or performance evaluation of an appointee, employee, or official over whom it has jurisdiction, and to discuss and consider pending or potential litigation, and to consult with counsel to seek legal advice regarding the Prince George's County Police Department."

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Franklin, to convene into Executive Session. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Anderson-Walker, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison,

Ivey, Streeter, Taveras and Turner

Absent Hawkins and Davis

3:00 P.M. - REDISTRICTING COMMISSION - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

| Prepared by: | | |
|---|--|--|
| Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant | | |
| Submitted by: | | |
| Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council | | |