

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

5:00 PM

VIRTUAL MEETING

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE eCOMMENT PORTAL: https://pgccouncil.us/SPEAK

<u>5:00 P.M. - RECONVENE</u>

The meeting was convened at 5:12 p.m. by Council Chair Hawkins with 10 members present at roll call.

Present: 10 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker

Council Member Derrick Davis Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Mel Franklin Council Member Dannielle Glaros Council Member Sydney Harrison Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Jolene Ivey Council Member Deni Taveras Council Member Todd Turner

Absent: Council Member Rodney Streeter

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council
James Walker-Bey, Office of the Clerk of the Council
Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel
Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. Your cooperation in immediately concluding your remarks at that point will be very much appreciated. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Attorneys representing multiple clients will have up to three (3) minutes per client to provide verbal testimony. However, Attorneys are encouraged to consolidate verbal testimony for multiple clients making the same requests, when possible.

Written testimony or comments may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format through the online eComment Portal, rather than by U.S. mail. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Comments must be received by the Clerk of the Council no later than Wednesday, September 29, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. and should be addressed to:

The Honorable Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Prince George's County Council County Administration Building Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Call to Order
- (b) Introduction of the County Council Members and Planning Board Commissioners
- (c) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II
- (d) M-NCPPC staff presentation

Derick Berlage, Acting Deputy Planning Director Planning Department Kierre McCune, Planner Coordinator

- (e) Comments by elected and appointed officials:
- (f) Comments by citizens:

JOINT PUBLIC HEARING:

JT 09142021 Draft 1 JOINT PUBLIC HEARING - THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL, SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL, AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PLANNING BOARD OF THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION VIRTUAL JOINT PUBLIC HEARING ON:

THE COUNTYWIDE SECTIONAL MAP AMENDMENT (CMA) FOR PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY

Pursuant to the provisions of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and the Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, being also Subtitle 27 of the Prince George's County Code, the Prince George's County Council, sitting as the District Council, and the Prince George's County Planning Board of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, is holding a Joint Virtual Public Hearing in order to receive public testimony concerning the CMA. The CMA consists of all properties within the County except for properties located within the municipal boundaries of the City of Laurel. The CMA, which is most of the County's land area, is also referred to for legal purposes as that portion of the Maryland-Washington Regional District located within Prince George's County.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: 09132021 & 09142021 CMA_LegalAd

CMA Record Link (as of November 3, 2020)

CMA Record Update Link (as of March 31, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of August 7, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of August 20, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of September 10, 2021)

JPH Staff Presentation for Sept 2021

09142021 Speakers List CMA Rev

CMA Record Update Link (as of September 24, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of September 27, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of October 8, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of October 11, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of October 12, 2021)

CMA Record Update Link (as of October 13, 2021)

CMA Exhibit List Revised (as of October 21, 2021)

Day two of the joint public hearing convened at 5:12 p.m. with ten Council Members present and Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Chair; Dorothy F. Bailey, Vice Chair, William M. Doerner, Member, Manuel Geraldo, Member, and A. Shuanise Washington, Member, Prince George's County Planning Board,

Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission. Also present: Derick Berlage, Acting Deputy Planning Director, Planning Department and Kierre McCune, Planner Coordinator. Kierre McCune provided a brief overview and facilitated a PowerPoint presentation titled "Countywide Map Amendment". All persons wishing to speak having done so this public hearing was declared held. Council Chair Hawkins announced the close of the record as close of business on September 29, 2021. The meeting concluded at 9:43 p.m.

This Joint Public Hearing was held.

REC18-21

Draft 1

RECESS

The joint public hearing was recessed at 8:06 p.m.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this meeting be recessed. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Hawkins, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,

Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Taveras and Turner

Absent Streeter

RECONVENE

The joint public hearing was reconvened at 8:18 p.m.

ADJ43-21

Draft 1

ADJOURN

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 9:43 PM

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Turner, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 10 - Hawkins, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,

Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Taveras and Turner

Absent Streeter

| Prepared by: |
|---|
| Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council |
| Submitted by: |
| Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council |