

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, District 3 Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Thursday, July 22, 2021	9:00 AM	VIRTUAL MEETING

9:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was called to order by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II at 9:05 a.m.
with seven members present at roll call.
Present: 7 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins
Council Member Thomas Dernoga

	Council Member Thomas Dernoga	
	Council Member Dannielle Glaros	
	Council Member Sydney Harrison	
	Council Member Jolene Ivey	
	Council Member Deni Taveras	
	Council Member Todd Turner	
Absent:	Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker	
	Council Member Derrick Davis	
	Council Member Mel Franklin	
	Council Member Rodney Streeter	

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050 William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Theresa Myers, Legislative Assistant Leonard Moses, Zoning Assistant James Walker Bey, Zoning Reference Aide

BUSINESS MEETING

EXECUTIVE SESSION

EX 07222021 Draft 1

Dian

Motion to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(b) (7) and (8), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to consider pending or potential litigation and to consult with counsel to seek legal advice, specifically, to address legal and procedural issues regarding the HNLEA Police lawsuit.

The following closing statement was read into the record by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II: "Motion to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Section 3-305(b) (7) and (8), General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, in order to consider pending or potential litigation and to consult with counsel to seek legal advice, specifically, to address as to legal issues regarding the Hispanic Law Enforcement Association."

The Executive Session convened at 9:14 a.m. and adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

The attendees were as follows: CMs Hawkins, Davis, Dernoga, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Taveras, Turner, Bobby Williams, Bill Hunt, Karen Campbell, Donna Brown, Turkessa Green, Tara Jackson, Joy Russell, Barry Stanton, Police Chief Malik Aziz, Rhonda Weaver, and Colette Gresham

No actions were taken

A motion was made by Council Member Dernoga, seconded by Council Member Taveras,to convene into Executive Session. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye	7 -	Hawkins, Dernoga, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Taveras and
		Turner
Absent		Anderson-Walker, Davis, Franklin and Streeter

ADJOURN

THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 9:08 A.M.

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Council Member Dernoga, that the meeting be adjourned. The motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by:

Theresa D. Myers, Legislative Assistant

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council