

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large Monique Anderson-Walker, District 8 Derrick Leon Davis, District 6 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, District 3 Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2 Todd M. Turner, District 4

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, October 4, 2021	5:00 PM	Council Hearing Room

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE eCOMMENT PORTAL: https://pgccouncil.us/SPEAK

5:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

This joint public hearing was called to order at 5:10 p.m.

Present:	9 -	Chair Calvin S. Hawkins	
		Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker	
		Council Member Derrick Davis	
		Council Member Thomas Dernoga	
		Council Member Mel Franklin	
		Council Member Dannielle Glaros	
		Council Member Sydney Harrison	
		Council Member Jolene Ivey	
		Council Member Todd Turner	
Absent:		Council Member Rodney Streeter	
		Council Member Deni Taveras	

Also present:

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050 Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. Written testimony or comments will be accepted in electronic format, rather than by U.S. mail via the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Written comments may be submitted until close of business on October 19, 2021.

HEARING AGENDA

- (a) Call to Order
- (b) Introduction of the County Council Members
- (c) Introductory remarks by County Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II
- (d) M-NCPPC staff presentation

Thomas Lester, Project Manager

- (e) Comments by elected and appointed officials:
- (f) Comments by concerned citizens:

PUBLIC HEARING

<u>JT 10042021</u> Draft 1

THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL, SITTING AS THE DISTRICT COUNCIL, AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PLANNING BOARD OF THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

THE PRELIMINARY BOWIE-MITCHELLVILLE AND VICINITY MASTER PLAN

Pursuant to the Regional District Act within the Land Use Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, as well as Subtitle 27 of the Prince George's County Code, being also the Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, Maryland, notice is hereby given that a public hearing will be held to seek public comment and testimony.

Attachment(s):2021.10.04 Joint Public Hearing BMVMP Errata Sheet
2021.10.04 Joint Public Hearing BMVMP Presentation
CLERK TO THE COUNCIL_PGCPB
TRANSMITTAL PACKET_PINK BMVMP JPH

This joint public hearing convened at 5:10 p.m. with nine Council Members present and Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Chair; Dorothy F. Bailey, Vice Chair, William M. Doerner, Member, and Manuel Geraldo, Member, Prince George's County Planning Board, Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission. Also present: Thomas Lester, Project Manager, provided a brief overview and facilitated a PowerPoint presentation titled "Bowie-Mitchellville And Vicinity Master Plan Preliminary Master Plan". All persons wishing to speak having done so this public hearing was declared held. Council Chair Hawkins announced the close of the record as close of business on October 19, 2021. The meeting concluded at 6:59 p.m.

This Joint Public Hearing was held.

<u>ADJ32-21</u>

Draft 1

ADJOURN

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 6:59 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye9 -Hawkins, Anderson-Walker, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin,
Glaros, Harrison, Ivey and Turner

County Council

Absent

Streeter and Taveras

Prepared by:

Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council