

Prince George's County Council

County Administration Building 14741 Governor Oden Bowie Drive Upper Marlboro, Maryland 20772-3050

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, Vice Chair, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4
Vacant - District 8 (effective: 11/8/2021)

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, November 15, 2021

10:30 AM

VIRTUAL MEETING

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA

11:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II at 12:42 p.m.

Present: 9 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Derrick Davis
Council Member Thomas Dernoga
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Dannielle Glaros
Council Member Sydney Harrison
Council Member Jolene Ivey

Council Member Deni Taveras Council Member Todd Turner

Absent: Council Member Rodney Streeter

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council

Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council

James Walker-Bey, Office of the Clerk of the Council

Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison

Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney

Nancy Lineman, Associate County Attorney

Alisha Alexander, Elections Administrator, Board of Elections

1. CONSENT AGENDA

(a) Introduction of Resolutions

CR-135-2021

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SPECIAL ELECTION TO FILL A

COUNCIL VACANCY for the purpose of directing that a special election be held to fill a vacancy on the County Council and to establish the dates for conducting the special primary election, the special election, and the deadline for the certification of candidacy.

Sponsor(s): Hawkins, Davis, Turner, Ivey, Glaros, Harrison, Franklin and Taveras

Attachment(s): R2021135

The proposed resolution is required to be adopted within 7 days of the vacancy in office created by the resignation of Council Member Monique Anderson-Walker effective November 8, 2021. The resolution establishes dates for conducting the required special primary election, the special election, and for the certification of candidates.

This Resolution was introduced by Council Members Hawkins, Davis, Turner, Ivey, Glaros, Harrison, Franklin, and Taveras and referred to the Sitting as the Committee of the Whole.

<u>Consent59-21</u>

Draft 1

MOTION TO ADOPT CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Consent Agenda be adopted. The motion

carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,

Taveras and Turner

Absent Streeter

2. CONSIDERATION OF ITEMS REMOVED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

REC37-21

RECESS

Draft 1

THE MEETING WAS RECESSED at 12:46 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Davis, seconded by Council Member Franklin, that this meeting be recessed. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,

Taveras and Turner

Absent Streeter

COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

(SEE SEPARATE AGENDA)

1:30 PM RECONVENE

THE MEETING WAS RECONVENED AT 3:11 PM.

3. RESOLUTIONS ELIGIBLE FOR FINAL READING – (ADOPTION)

CR-135-2021

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING SPECIAL ELECTION TO FILL A

Draft 1

<u>COUNCIL VACANCY</u> for the purpose of directing that a special election be held to fill a vacancy on the County Council and to establish the dates for conducting the special primary election, the special election, and the deadline for the certification of candidacy.

Sponsor(s): Hawkins, Davis, Turner, Ivey, Glaros, Harrison, Franklin and Taveras

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2021135

Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator, provided a verbal report of the actions and recommendations of the Committee of the Whole for CR-135-2021.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council

Member Davis, that a new draft be substituted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 7 - Hawkins, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Harrison, Ivey and

Turner

Absent Glaros, Streeter and Taveras

A motion was made by Council Member Franklin, seconded by Council Member Davis, that this Resolution be adopted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 7 - Hawkins, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Harrison, Ivey and

Turner

Absent Glaros, Streeter and Taveras

ADJ77-21 Draft 1 **ADJOURN**

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 3:17 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 7 - Hawkins, Davis, Dernoga, Franklin, Harrison, Ivey and

Turner

Absent Glaros, Streeter and Taveras

| Prepared by: | |
|---|--|
| Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council | |
| Submitted by: | |
| | |

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council