

## **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# **Meeting Minutes - Final County Council**

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1
Mel Franklin, At-Large
Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3
Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9
Jolene Ivey, District 5
Rodney C. Streeter, District 7
Deni L. Taveras, District 2
Todd M. Turner, District 4
Vacant - District 8 (effective: 11/8/2021)

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Tuesday, December 7, 2021

11:00 AM

**Virtual Meeting** 

#### VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

#### 11:00 A.M. - CALL TO ORDER - (VIRTUAL MEETING)

The meeting was called to order by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II at 11:20 a.m. with 9 members present at roll call (Council District 8 vacant).

#### Rollcall

**Present:** 9 - Chair Calvin S. Hawkins

Council Member Deni Taveras Council Member Thomas Dernoga Council Member Dannielle Glaros

Vice Chair Sydney Harrison Council Member Jolene Ivey Council Member Rodney Streeter Council Member Todd Turner Council Member Derrick Davis

Absent: Council Member Mel Franklin

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham. Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Office of the Clerk of the Council James Walker-Bey, Office of the Clerk of the Council Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney Nancy Lineman, Associate County Attorney J. Kenneth Battle, TIEE Committee Director Kathy Canning, Legislative Officer Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel Sandra Eubanks, EWD Committee Director Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer Howard Stone. GOFP Committee Director Nathaniel Tutt. III. HHSPS Committee Director Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer Monica Best James, Legislative Officer Ellis Watson, Legislative Officer Josh Hamlin, A&I

#### Guest:

Angela Alsobrooks, County Executive

#### INVOCATION / MOMENT OF SILENCE

The Invocation was provided by Dr. Michael A. Freeman, Founder and Pastor, Spirit of Faith Christian Center, locations in Prince George's County and Maryland. Vice Chair Taveras requested prayer for the least amongst us, the homeless, children in foster care, children forgotten, and for the families that are struggling during the holidays. Council Member Ivey requested prayer for her neighbor Joni Bell who is recovering from a stroke. County Executive Alsobrooks requested prayer for Dr. Charlene Dukes and her family in the loss of her mother along with all who are suffering this

season. Council Member Turner requested prayer for his family due to the loss in the Arani and Gauhar families. He also requested prayer in recognition of the eightieth anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor and the twentieth anniversary of the 9-11 World Trade Center attacks and those impacted by both. Additionally, Council Member Turner requested prayer for county the government and the legislative branch for their health and well being along with the losses suffered. Council Member Dernoga requested prayer for former Council Chair Camille Exum and family in the loss of former State Senator Nathanial Exum. Council Member Streeter requested prayer for the national conscious around the pandemic, that for equity in the solution and a minimization of the casualties to make Prince George's County better than before. Council Member Glaros requested prayer for the family of Philistine Williams of the Rolling Crest area of Chillum in her passing.

#### **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Council Member Davis.

#### **BUSINESS MEETING**

#### 1. REMARKS BY THE 2021 COUNCIL CHAIR & VICE CHAIR

Council Member Deni Taveras thanked the Council Chair for the opportunity to serve as his Vice Chair and presented him with a gift that reads: "Presented in recognition of Exemplary Leadership to the County Council and citizens of Prince George's County."

Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II, thanked Vice Chair Taveras for her service as Vice Chair and presenter her with a gift that reads: "Presented in appreciation of Outstanding Service to the County Council and citizens of Prince George's County."

# 2. ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2022 LEGISLATIVE YEAR

CHAIR1-2022

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 7, 2021 TO DECEMBER 6, 2022.

A motion was made by Council Member Harrison, seconded by Council Member Davis, that Council Member Hawkins be elected as Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Taveras, Dernoga, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,

Streeter, Turner and Davis

**Absent** Franklin

VICECHAIR1-2022

Draft 1

ELECTION OF COUNTY COUNCIL VICE CHAIR TO SERVE FROM DECEMBER 7, 2021 TO DECEMBER 6, 2022.

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Council Member Turner, that Council Member Harrison be elected as Vice Chair. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Taveras, Dernoga, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,

Streeter, Turner and Davis

**Absent** Franklin

#### 3. EXCHANGE OF GAVEL

#### 4. REMARKS BY COUNTY EXECUTIVE ANGELA D. ALSOBROOKS

County Executive Angela Alsobrooks thanked Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Council Vice Chair Taveras, and the entire Council for its work on behalf of Prince George's County residents and she also congratulated the new leadership team.

#### 5. REMARKS BY INCOMING 2022 COUNCIL CHAIR

Council Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II, thanked God for His call to leadership and for allowing him to continue to fight the good fight for people of Prince George's County. Chair Hawkins thanked his colleagues for the opportunity to serve as Chair, and for entrusting him with the Gavel of Leadership for a second consecutive year. Additionally, he thanked County Executive Angela Alsobrooks for being a confidant and strong leader and for her team for their leadership. Chair Hawkins noted the challenges of the past year, while expressing hope for the future.

## ADJ82-21 ADJOURN

Draft 1

A motion was made by Council Member Taveras, seconded by Vice Chair Harrison, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye 9 - Hawkins, Taveras, Dernoga, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,

Streeter, Turner and Davis

**Absent** Franklin