

Prince George's County Council

Meeting Minutes - Final County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair, At-Large Edward P. Burroughs, III, District 8 Thomas E. Dernoga, District 1 Mel Franklin, At-Large Dannielle M. Glaros, District 3 Sydney J. Harrison, Vice Chair, District 9 Jolene Ivey, District 5 Rodney C. Streeter, District 7 Deni L. Taveras, District 2 Todd M. Turner, District 4 Vacant - District 6 (effective: 4/15/2022)

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

Monday, May 2, 2022 5:00 PM	Council Hearing Room
-----------------------------	-----------------------------

Accessible in a Hybrid Manner -- Both Virtually and In-Person

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

5:00 P.M. - CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 5:10 p.m. by Vice Chair Sydney Harrison with ten members present at roll call (District 6 Vacant as of April 15, 2022).

Present:10 -Chair Calvin S. Hawkins
Council Member Thomas Dernoga
Council Member Mel Franklin
Council Member Dannielle Glaros
Vice Chair Sydney Harrison
Council Member Jolene Ivey
Council Member Rodney Streeter
Council Member Deni Taveras
Council Member Todd Turner
Council Member Edward Burroughs

Also present: Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant Turkessa Green, County Auditor Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer Josh Hamlin, A&I

BUSINESS MEETING

PUBLIC HEARING:

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY PROPOSED FY 2023 OPERATING PH 05022022 BUDGET, SIX-YEAR CAPITAL PROGRAM (INCLUDING THE CAPITAL Draft 1 **IMPROVEMENT BUDGET) AND THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION PORTION OF THE COUNTY FY 2023 OPERATING BUDGET, PROPOSED BUDGET OF THE REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY AND REVENUE AUTHORITY OF** PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY, AND THE CONSTANT YIELD TAX RATE Office of Management & Budget Site <u>Attachment(s)</u>: County Council Budget Portal 05022022 Budget PH Public Comments eComments export and emails 05022022 Budget PH Chair Speech Constant Yield FY2023 with chart Pursuant to proper notice, the public hearing convened at 5:10 p.m. Council Vice Chair Sydney Harrison provided introductory remarks along with an overview of the hearing procedures. Vice Chair Harrison also provided a statement regarding the proposed Prince Georges County Fiscal Year 2022 Constant Yield Tax Rate and multiyear contracts. All persons

wishing to speak having done so, the public hearing was declared held. Leroy Maddox, Jr., Legislative Officer, provided and overview and comments. The public hearing concluded at 9:15 p.m.

This Public Hearing was held.

HEARING PROCEDURES:

Time limitation of three (3) minutes per speaker has been imposed. There will be no relinquishing of time by one speaker to another. Written statements may be submitted for the record in addition to, or in lieu of, verbal testimony. To register to speak or submit comments or written testimony please use the Council's eComment portal at: https://pgccouncil.us/Speak. For those unable to use the portal, comments/written correspondence may be emailed to: clerkofthecouncil@co.pg.md.us or faxed to (301) 952-5178. Comments should be addressed to:

The Honorable Calvin S. Hawkins, II, Chair Prince George's County Council Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Drive Largo, Maryland 20774

HEARING AGENDA:

- (a) Introductory Remarks by Chair Calvin S. Hawkins, II
- (b) Introduction of the County Council Members
- (c) Comments by Elected Officials and/or Representatives of Municipalities:

ADJOURN

(d) Comments by Interested Citizens:

<u>ADJ56-22</u>

Draft 1

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 9:15 PM.

A motion was made by Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Turner, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye10 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,
Streeter, Taveras, Turner and Burroughs

Prepared by:

Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant

Submitted by:

Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council