

# **Prince George's County Council**

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

# Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

**Thursday, May 12, 2022** 

1:30 PM

VIRTUAL MEETING

## VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

### **ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:**

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Sydney Harrison at 1:42 p.m.

**Present** 9 - Calvin S. Hawkins

Thomas Dernoga Mel Franklin Dannielle Glaros Sydney Harrison Jolene Ivey Rodney Streeter Deni Taveras Todd Turner

**Absent** Edward Burroughs

Johnathan Medlock

## Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Leonard Moses, Zoning/Legislative Assistant
James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant
Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison
Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney
Nancy Lineman, Associate County Attorney
Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director

Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel

Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer

TA-3-2022

Draft 1

#### TRANSCRIPT ANALYSIS

PRELIMINARY ADELPHI ROAD-UMGC-UMD PURPLE LINE STATION AREA SECTOR PLAN AND PROPOSED SECTIONAL MAP AMENDMENT (SMA) (CR-123-2020) (DIGEST OF TESTIMONY)

Shubha Punase Project Manager Community Planning Division, Long-Range Planning Section M-NCPPC

Attachment(s): ARSP Transmittal Letter Planning

**ARSP Staff Analysis of Testimony** 

ARSP Staff Analysis of Testimony\_Additional
ARSP PB Resolution of Plan Adoption PGCPB No.

2022-41

ARSMA PB Resolution of SMA Endorsement PGCPB

No. 2022-42

ARSP Presentation 05122022

Convened at 1:43 p.m. Karen Zavakos, Legislative and Zoning Counsel, provided an overview. Shubha Punase, AICP, LEED-GA, Project Manager, Community Planning Division, M-NCPPC, provided comments on the staff report and transcript analysis and facilitated a PowerPoint presentation titled, "Adelphi Road-UMGC-UMD Purple Line Station Area Sector Plan and Sectional Map Amendment District Council Work Session Thursday, May 12, 2022". The presentation highlighted the following: SECTOR PLAN BOUNDARY: TESTIMONY RECEIVED; ANALYSIS OF TESTIMONY: SECTION II. B: ANALYSIS OF KEY ISSUES; B1. CONCERNS ABOUT THE PLANNING PROCESS AND LEGISLATIVE SCHEDULE; B1. PLANNING BOARD RECOMMENDATION; B2. DEVELOPMENT SITES AT 3623 CAMPUS DRIVE AND 7500 MOWATT LANE: BALANCE OF PRESERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT; B2. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; B3. SCALE AND INTENSITY OF DEVELOPMENT AND CENTER DESIGNATION: B3. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS: B4. STORMWATER MANAGEMENT; B4. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; B5. REDUCING AUTOMOBILE USE THROUGH TRANSITORIENTED DEVELOPMENT AND PERCEPTIONS OF TRAFFIC CONGESTION; B5. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; B6. HOUSING AFFORDABILITY; B6. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS: B7. COUNTYWIDE GREEN INFRASTRUCTURE NETWORK; B7. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; B8.

PLAN BOUNDARIES; B8. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; B9. ZONING CHANGE REQUESTS FROM MUNICIPALITIES; B9. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; B9. ZONING CHANGE REQUESTS FROM MUNICIPALITIES; B9. PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; PROPOSED SMA - PUBLIC REQUESTS FOR REZONING OF PROPERTIES; PLANNING BOARD ACTIONS; NEXT STEPS AND PROJECT SCHEDULE; PROJECT TEAM CONTACTS; APPENDIX; B2. DEVELOPMENT SITES AT 3623 CAMPUS DRIVE AND 7500 MOWATT LANE: BALANCE OF PRESERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT; B3. SCALE AND INTENSITY OF DEVELOPMENT AND CENTER DESIGNATION; B4. STORMWATER MANAGEMENT; B5. REDUCING AUTOMOBILE USE THROUGH TRANSIT-ORIENTED DEVELOPMENT AND PERCEPTIONS OF TRAFFIC CONGESTION: and B7. COUNTYWIDE GREEN INFRASTRUCTURE NETWORK. Ms. Punase along with Brandon (Scott) Rowe, Supervisor, Long-Range Planning Section, Community Planning Division, M-NCPPC, responded to questions. Council took this item under advisement.

No action was taken on this Transcript Analysis.

# <u>ADJ66-22</u>

Draft 1

#### **ADJOURN**

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 2:55 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by a voice vote.

Aye: 9 - Hawkins, Dernoga, Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Ivey,

Streeter, Taveras and Turner

**Absent:** Burroughs and Medlock