

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Report of the Standing Committee - Final Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee

Mel Franklin, Chair
Dannielle M. Glaros, Vice-Chair
Calvin S. Hawkins
Sydney J. Harrison
Todd M. Turner

Director - Jackie Brown Administrative Aide - Charlotte Aheart (301) 952-4199

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

1:30 PM

Virtual Meeting

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDING

CALL TO ORDER

Present: 5 - Chair Mel Franklin, Vice Chair Dannielle Glaros, Council

Member Sydney Harrison, Council Member Todd Turner and Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins

Other Council Members Present: Thomas Dernoga and Deni Taveras

BRIEFING

BR 10192022 M-NCPPC - Local Small Business Procurement and MBE Program

Peter Shapiro, Chair
Asuntha Chiang-Smith, Executive Director
Debra Borden, General Counsel
Tracey Harvin, Corporate Policy and Management Operations Director
Malcolm Jackson, Supplier Diversity Program Manager

Attachment(s): M-NCPPC PHED Committee Briefing

Presentation 10.19.2022

Briefing held

LEGISLATION

CR-119-2022

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK

<u>AND PLANNING COMMISSION</u> for the purpose of approving certain transfers of appropriations within the Approved FY 2022-2023 Operating Budget of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission to the Approved Fiscal Year 2023-2028 Capital Improvement Program of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2022119

CR-119-2022 AIS

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Harrison, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Franklin, Glaros, Harrison, Turner and Hawkins

CB-097-2022

AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING ZONING-ZONES AND ZONE REGULATIONS-BASE ZONES-EXPEDITED TRANSIT-ORIENTED

<u>DEVELOPMENT</u> for the purpose of clarifying the development regulations applicable to certain expedited transit-oriented development in Transit-Oriented/Activity Center Base Zones within the new Zoning Ordinance of Prince George's County, being also Chapter 37, 2018 Laws of Prince George's County, Maryland (CB-013-2018), as amended by Chapter 53, 2021 Laws of Prince George's County, Maryland (CB-098-2021).

Attachment(s): B2022097

CB-097-2022 AIS

CB-097-2022 Planning Board Votes Letter

CB-097-2022 Planning Board Anaylsis

CB-097-2022 map

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Chair Franklin, that this Council Bill be Reported out with no recommendation to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Franklin, Turner and Hawkins

Nay: 1 - Glaros

Absent: 1 - Harrison

CB-103-2022

AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING TOBACCO SHOPS, ELECTRONIC
CIGARETTE SHOPS OR A RETAIL TOBACCO BUSINESS for the purpose of

modifying the definition and increasing the Special Exception distance requirements for tobacco shops, electronic cigarette shops or retail tobacco businesses that sell products for offsite use.

Attachment(s): B2022103

CB-103-2022 AIS

CB-103-2022 Planning Board Votes Letter CB-103-2022 Planning Board Anaylsis

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Hawkins, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Franklin, Glaros, Turner and Hawkins

Absent: 1 - Harrison

CB-105-2022

<u>AN ORDINANCE CONCERNING LCD ZONE</u> for the purposes of authorizing development standards and uses for designated employment areas in LCD Zone under certain circumstances.

Attachment(s): B2022105

CB-105-2022 Planning Board Votes Letter CB-105-2022 Planning Board Anaylsis

CB-105-2022 staff report signed

CB-105-2022 LCD Eligible Map Properties

CB-105-2022 ZHE Memo

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Chair Franklin, that this Council Bill be Favorably recommended to the County Council. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Franklin, Glaros, Turner and Hawkins

Absent: 1 - Harrison

ADJOURN

Adjourned

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator

William Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator

Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator

Jackie Brown, Committee Director

Karen Zavakos, Zoning and Legislative Counsel

Charlotte Aheart, Administrative Aide

Maurene McNeil, Zoning Hearing Examiner

Turkessa Green, Audits and Investigation

Terry Bell, CEX

Jose Sousa, CEX

Amanda Denison, OOL

Peter Shapiro, M-NCPPC

Asuntha Chiang-Smith, M-NCPPC

Debra Borden, M-NCPPC

Tracey Harvin, M-NCPPC

Malcolm Jackson, M-NCPPC

Rana Hightower, M-NCPPC

Chad Williams, M-NCPPC

Derick Berlage, M-NCPPC

Scott Rowe, M-NCPPC

Jill Kosack, M-NCPPC

Cliff Brown, M-NCPPC

Bridget Stesney, M-NCPPC

Jim Chandler

Janet Gingold

John Tabori

Cheryl Cort

Bradley Farrar

Arthur Horne