

Prince George's County Council

Wayne K. Curry Administration Building 1301 McCormick Dr Largo, MD 20774

Meeting Minutes - Final Sitting as the Committee of the Whole

Monday, August 29, 2022

11:15 AM

Virtual Meeting

Virtual Meeting

VIEW USING THE LINK PROVIDED AT: https://pgccouncil.us/LIVE

ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS:

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Sydney Harrison, at 11:42 a.m.

Present 10 - Calvin S. Hawkins

Mel Franklin
Dannielle Glaros
Sydney Harrison
Jolene Ivey
Rodney Streeter
Deni Taveras
Todd Turner

Edward Burroughs Johnathan Medlock

Absent Thomas Dernoga

Also present:

Robert J. Williams, Jr., Council Administrator
William M. Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator
Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator
Leonard Moses, Legislative/Zoning Assistant
James Walker-Bey, Zoning Assistant
Donna J. Brown, Clerk of the Council
Terry L. Bell, Council Liaison

Amanda Denison, Associate County Attorney
Nancy Lineman, Associate County Attorney
Nathaniel Tutt, III, HHSPS Committee Director
Donna Whitman, Legislative Officer
Jackie Brown, PHED Committee Director
Karen Zavakos, Legislative & Zoning Counsel
Dinora Hernandez, Legislative Officer

LEGISLATION

CR-090-2022

Draft 1

A RESOLUTION CONCERNING PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT PROCESS FOR THE SELECTION OF MEMBERS TO THE POLICE ACCOUNTABILITY

<u>BOARD</u> for the purpose of establishing a public engagement process for the selection of members to the Police Accountability Board.

<u>Attachment(s)</u>: R2022090

CR-090-2022 AIS

CR-090-2022 Transmittal

CR-090-2022 Public Comments 08.29.2022 COW

ecomments export and attachments

Nathaniel K. Tutt, III, Director of Health, Human Services and Public Safety Committee (HHSPS), provided an overview of CR-090-2022 and Introduced Rhonda Weaver, County Attorney, Terry Bell, Council Liaison, Office of the County Executive and Miriam Brewer, Appointments Liaison, Office of the County Executive. Ms. Brewer and Ms. Weaver provided comments and responded to questions. John Spillane and Lorena Diaz signed up to speak. Robert Williams, Jr., Council Administrator, and Colette Gresham, Associate Council Administrator, responded to questions.

A motion was made by Chair Hawkins, seconded by Council Member Taveras, that this Resolution be Favorably recommended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 9 - Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras, Turner, Burroughs,

Medlock, Hawkins and Franklin

Absent: Dernoga **Abstain:** 1 - Glaros

ADJ91-22 Draft 1 **ADJOURN**

THE MEETING WAS ADJOURNED AT 12:39 PM.

A motion was made by Council Member Turner, seconded by Council Member Streeter, that this meeting be adjourned. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 10 - Glaros, Harrison, Ivey, Streeter, Taveras, Turner,

Burroughs, Medlock, Hawkins and Franklin

Absent: Dernoga

COUNTY COUNCIL (RECONVENE)